New edition of the BigMat International Architecture Award

Registration open for the 4th edition of the BigMat International Architecture Award

The registration period for the 4th edition of the BigMat International Architecture Award is now open. In the last edition the FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais art center by the French architects Lacaton & Vassal followed the kitchen tower by Xaveer De Geyter (winner in 2013) and the office building by Alberto Campo Baeza (winner in 2015) as Grand Prize of the biannual award.

BIGMAT'17 INTERNATIONAL GRAND PRIZE FRAC (Regional Contemporary Artwork Collection), Dunkerke - France Lacaton & Vassal

The registration period will run from January 14 through to April 26, 2019. The BigMat International Architecture Award ’19 rewards quality architectural production in Europe with more than 70.000€, distributed in 1 Grand Prize, 6 National Prizes, 7 Prizes for Finalists and one Special Mention for Young Architects. Free submission available here.

The Prize aims to reward and call attention to those architectural works that have made a major contribution to contemporary architectural culture in Belgium, the Czech Republic, France, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia and Spain.

The panel of judges will award a total of 14 prizes across the different categories and each of the seven countries taking part in the contest must be represented. There will also be a Special Mention for Young Architects. Of the 14 awards handed out under the different categories, the awards panel shall select seven National winners. The seven winning entries for each of the countries taking part will then compete for the BigMat International Architecture Award ’19 Grand Prize.


The prize is open to architects who work in one of the seven participating countries: Belgium, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, France, Italy, Portugal and Spain. Any architects whose professional address is in any of the seven participating countries and whose works have also been built in these territories can submit their works until the 26th of April 2019. To be eligible for the award, the project must have been built between 1 January 2015 and 1 January 2019 in any of the participating countries. Buildings that won or made the final in previous editions of this competition may not be entered again into this fourth edition.

The panel of judges will comprise one member for each of the participating countries –all of which experts of recognized prestige- as well as the President of the jury, Jesús Aparicio (Doctor in Architecture and Professor of Architectural Projects at the Technical University of Madrid) and the Awards Secretary, Jesús Donaire (Architect and Associated lecturer in Architectural Projects at the Technical University of Madrid).

The BigMat´19 Award members of the jury are:

Jesús Aparicio
Award President

Jesús Aparicio
Award Secretary

Belgium: Stéphane Beel
Architect and founder of architecture studio Stéphane Beel Architects

Czech Republic and Slovakia:
Petr Pelčak
Architect and founder of architecture studio Pelčak a Partner architekti

France: Philippe Prost
Architect and National Award Winner for France at BigMat’15.

Italy: Paolo Zermani
Architect and academician of the Accademia Nazionale di San Luca in Rome.

Portugal and Spain: Fuensanta Nieto
Architect awarded the Alvar Aalto Medal in 2015.

All participating architects will have the opportunity to compete before this panel of internationally renowned judges, charged with designating the winner of the BigMat International Architectural Award ’19 Grand Prize  (30.000€), as well as the winners of the 6 National Prizes (5.000€), 7  Prizes for Finalists ’19 (1.500€) and the Special Mention for Young Architects (1.500€).

The closing event and awards ceremony will be held in the French city of Bordeaux, on Friday 22 November 2019, at le Palais de la Bourse, coinciding with the Annual Congress of the BigMat International Group.

More information:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email